1000 Guineas History

The 1000 Guineas for 3 year old fillies, is the junior of the five English Classic races. It takes place each Spring on the Rowley Mile at the Newmarket Racecourse. It was first run in 1814, five years after the colts equivalent, the 2000 Guineas. The first race was won by a horse called Charlotte, but it has produced many famous winners, many of whom have gone on to win the Epsom Oaks and even bigger races than that.

It takes place on the second day of the Guineas Festival, which this year will be on 2nd May. Like its counterpart the 2000 Guineas its name is the same as the original prize fund on offer. In 2008 the prize fund on offer was £375,000.

Legendary Winners

  • Finsceal Beo, who won the 2007 race was one of only two fillies to win both the English and Irish 1000 Guineas.
  • Oh So Sharp, winner of the 1985 race, completed the Fillies version of the English Triple Crown, by going on to win the Epsom Oaks and the Doncaster St Leger.
  • Pebbles who won the 1000 Guineas in 1984, was the first winner to go and win the Group 1 Eclipse Stakes where she had subsequent Prix de L'arc Triomphe winner, Rainbow Quest. Pebbles also became the first horse from Britain to win a Breeders Cup race in the USA.

Race Facts

Finsceal Beo was the fastest ever winner of the race, when she won in 2007.The longest 1000 Guineas odds winner was Ferry, who won in 1918 at odds of 50/1, while the shortest odds winner was Crucifix, who was 1/10 odds on in 1840.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous